Chaitra Navratri

Chaitra Navratri

Chaitra Navratri ( devoted to the worship of Goddess Durga ) is a Nine day festival that begins from first day of the Chaitra month as per Hindu Lunar Calendar. Chaitra Navratri is also known as Vasant Navratri. The 9th day of Chaitra Navratri usually celebrated as the Birth of Lord Rama ( Ram Navami ). This year, Chaitra Navratri will begin from Sunday, 30th March till Monday, 7th April 2025 and Ram Navami will be celebrated on Sunday, 6th April 2025.

Chaitra Navratri & Ram Navami Special Recommendations

Goddess Nav Durga in Nine Forms :
Nine forms of Shakti are worshipped during the Navratris. Every day, she assumes a new incarnation, having a new look and name. Each Goddess has a different form and special significance. The message that Goddess Durga gives to her devotees is that with the force of dignity and wisdom, we can achieve the victory over all the demonic forces inside us.

Nine Days of Chaitra Navratri & Nine Forms of Maa Durga :

1st Day ( Sunday, 30th March 2025 ), Pratipada Tithi : On the first day of Navratri, Goddess Durga is worshipped as 'Shailputri' She is considered the daughter of the Himalayas. This form of Goddess Durga rides a bull and carries a trident and a lotus in her two hands.

2nd day ( Monday, 31st March 2025 ), Dwitiya and Tritiya Tithi : On Dwitiya Tithi, second form of Goddess Durga, which is known as 'Brahmacharini' is worshipped. She is also a form of Uma or Parvati. She is blissful and bestows happiness, peace, prosperity and grace upon all devotees who worship her. Worshiping this form of Goddess Durga is also a way to attain Moksha.

This year, Tritiya Tithi also fall on this day (along with Dwitiya Tithi). On Tritiya Tithi, the Goddess is worshipped as
'Chandraghanta'. She is the symbolic representation of beauty and bravery. She has a ‘chandra’ or half moon on her forehead in the shape of a ‘ghanta’ or bell. That is why she is called ‘Chandraghanta’. She is charming and has ten hands, three eyes and holds weapons in her hands.

3rd day ( Tuesday, 1st April 2025 ), Chaturthi Tithi : On Chaturthi Tithi of Navratri, the Goddess is worshipped as 'Kushmanda'. It is believed that Kushmanda is the creator of the entire Universe which she has created by her smile. The universe was full of darkness, until her light spreads in all directions like rays from the sun. She has eight or ten hands and holds weapons, glitter, rosary, etc., in her hands.

4th day ( Wednesday, 2nd April 2025 ), Panchmi Tithi : On Panchmi Tithi of Navratri, Goddess is worshipped as 'Skand Mata'. She is actually called so because she is the Mother of Skanda, the chief warrior of the Gods army. She is accompanied by the Lord Skanda in his infant form. Skanda Mata has four arms and three eyes, holds the infant Skanda in her right upper arm and a lotus in her right hand which is slightly raised upwards. The left arm is in pose to grant boons with grace and she holds a lotus in left lower hand which is also raised.

5th day ( Thursday, 3rd April 2025 ), Shashti Tithi : On Shashti Tithi, the Goddess is worshipped as 'Katyayani'. Goddess Katyayani rides on a magnificent Lion and she has four hands. She carries lotus flower and sword in her right hands and keeps her left hands in Abhaya and Varada Mudras.

6th day ( Friday, 4th April 2025 ), Saptami Tithi : On Saptmi Tithi, the Goddess is worshipped as 'Kalratri'. Her complexion is dark black and she rides on a donkey. She is depicted with four hands. Her right hands are in Abhaya and Varada Mudra and she carries sword and the deadly iron hook in her left hands.

7th day ( Saturday, 5th April 2025 ), Ashtami Tithi : On Ashtami Tithi, the Goddess is worshipped as 'Maha Gauri'. She is considered to be extremely beautiful, white like snow and she wears white colored ornaments. She represents calmness and exhibits Wisdom. Her power is unfailing and praying to her is instantly fruitful. The left upper hand holds a ‘Damaru’ and the lower one is in the pose of granting boons to her devotees. 8th day of Navratri is also known as Durga Ashtami.

8th day ( Sunday, 6th April 2025 ), Navmi Tithi also celebrated as Ram Navmi : On Navmi Tithi, the Goddess is worshipped as 'Siddhidatri'. It is believed she is bestower of all the eight Siddhis. She lives on lotus and has Supernatural healing powers. In ‘Devi Bhagvata Purana’ it is mentioned that Lord Shiva worshipped her and was blessed with all Siddhis (supernatural powers). By her blessings his half body became female and other half body male in the avatar of Ardhnarishwar.

9th day ( Monday, 7th April 2025 ), Dashmi Tithi / Navratri Parna : This year, Chaitra Navratri Paarna, which marks the end of the 9 day long Navratri festival will be observed on 7th April. Navratri Parana is also the process of breaking the fast observed during Navratri.


Your shopping cart is empty.

Go to cart page